top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Piper

Top 5 tips for when you feel nervous about solo travel!

  1. Acknowledge that you will have hard days.

Traveling is not always the narrative that Instagram portrays. You will have moments where you feel anxious and out of your depth. This is normal! But know that you can and will get through those moments and come out the other side a whole lot stronger.


The worst moments for me are often the few days before a big trip. One memory that comes to mind is when I was 18. I was about to get on a flight to Lesotho in Southern Africa to spend 6 months working at an orphanage. I was on my own and incredibly nervous about the journey and had no idea what I was getting myself into. On the first flight to South Africa I sat next to this old couple who had managed to get the last seats on the plane to go to their sons funeral. I was completely out of my depth dealing with a very distressed couple sat next to me and with my own anxious concerns!


But I did it! I made my way to Lesotho and spent what would be a life changing experience at 'Beautiful Gate' orphanage.


2. Volunteer/Work


This is one of the best ways and by far my favourite way to travel because you meet like minded people along the way, you actually get a true understanding of local life and you stop being like one of those annoying tourists! It's also a financially smart way to travel as you can earn money, or in some volunteering cases you can get really cheap accommodation.


Be careful of voluntourism! And make sure you're volunteering for the right reasons - if its just to get a cheap bed for a week don't volunteer because I guarantee you will do more harm then good.


Some of my favourite websites are:



3. Stay at hostels that run events


There are more people solo travelling then you think and a great way to meet them is at hostels! Some hostels run events such as pub crawls, or activities to do in the city etc. Others may have really good social areas where you can play board games, snooker and cards.


Don't be afraid to go up to someone and ask to join in - more often then not the answer will always be YES!


4. Join an online solo travel community.


I am part of a few solo female Facebook private pages. All members are verified before they join and it means you have connections all over the world. So if you want advice or if you want to meet up with someone, write a message on the community page!


I did this when I was in Hoi An. I needed advice with something and someone who was actually from Hoi An was able to help me, and she told me about a local festival which was happening that day!


5. Learn to be ok with yourself.


There is an immense freedom that comes with enjoying your own company. I've learnt so much more about myself since starting solo travel! I've also grown in confident and I'm more willing to do things out of my comfort.


11 views0 comments
bottom of page