top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Piper

Saying goodbye

I’m writing this on the 27th of May 2017, it’s a Saturday and I leave for England in 3 days time. Hopefully when I post this I will be home safe and will have surprised my grandparents on their 50th wedding anniversary. Some of you may have noticed that I’m leaving Lesotho a little earlier than planned, this is due to a number of reasons but the main one is my health. Unfortunately, its making it hard for me to live life in Lesotho. But I do believe that it is right for me to leave Lesotho, I’ve had a great 4 months in Africa and made many memories and want to leave on a good note.

I have 3 days left in this beautiful country and I’m starting to say my goodbyes and have my last experiences. Last week was my last time working with M’me Makhooa, one of my house mothers. Tomorrow will be my last time at victory church, Monday will probably be the last time ill ride in a taxi to the mall and the last time ill experience the centre of Maseru. It will be the last time I experience the Basotho people and their beautiful culture. And the goodbye I’m dreading the most is with my kids. I really don’t know how I will be or how I will feel, but I do know how lucky I am to have formed such a precious relationship with each of them. During my time with them I’ve gotten to see their personalities develop, their confidence grow and what they love/don’t love so much. These kids will forever be in my heart and I will never forget them as they’ve given me a little glance of how much a parent loves their child and how much Jesus loves us as well. I pray that whatever lies ahead of them in their future they will know that they are loved so much and that they are children of God. I thank God for beautiful gate and the safe place it is for the children, many of which have had more than a rough start in life. I also thank God for the many memories I leave with, memories of the kids, memories of the adventures, memories of the people here in Lesotho.


This adventure has no doubt been the toughest thing I’ve had to do in my life, but it has shaped me and made me grow into, I think, a better person. A person with more knowledge about the world and the people in it, a person with more knowledge about herself and a person who has experienced God’s love in a different way. I’ve also discovered that I’m the worst cook in the world, Iris Riemersma can testify to that. But I'm also excited to see my family and friends again.

See you all soon!

E x



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page