top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Piper

Venice - Airbnb nightmare turned into my favourite place in Europe

Buongiorno!


I am an avid user of Airbnb and think it is probably one of the best ways to travel. It often works out cheaper and you get to experience where you're going 'like a local'. I knew Venice would be a tough place to visit on the cheap but thought I would try my best to find a place for a reasonable price. The Airbnb I found was cheap (for Venice) and the reviews were ok. I messaged the host with my concerns and he assured me there would be no problem and he wouldn't cancel. I booked it, but as it got closer to our trip a few more bad reviews popped up and the host became impossible to contact. Long story short - we turned up in Venice and found the Airbnb but could not get hold of the owner to check in. I contacted Airbnb and they seemed helpful at first, but five hours later we still did not have anywhere to stay. We were tired, fed up and it was getting dark. Quite a lot of money later and we managed to get another Airbnb and checked in just before 20:00. The moral of the story is that you cannot do Venice on the cheap and don't hope that an Airbnb with bad reviews works out well!


Since then we've had a great time. It is such a beautiful city with tiny street alleys everywhere. I've had too many margarita pizzas and gelatos to count! Here are some things I would recommend if you ever come to this city:


1. Scala Contarini del Bovolo

This beautiful tower costs €6 to go up (if you're under 25). The columns at the top are a lot smaller than the ones at the bottom to give the illusion that the tower is taller than it is. The views at the top are, in my opinion, the best! You can see San Marco Basilica and Campanile.

2. Bridge of sighs

This bridge was used to lead prisoners from the examining rooms to their cells in the Prigioni. Legend has it that prisoners who crossed the bridge on the way to their prison cells would sigh as they caught their last glimpses of Venice through the tiny windows. We sat down next to it soaking up the sun as we watched the gondolas go by.


3. Hotel Danieli

At the top of this posh hotel there is a restaurant with a great view. We later found out that this hotel was used to film The Tourist (staring Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp). WARNING: This restaurant is extremely expensive. We went and just bought drinks but this still made a dent in our wallets. It is worth it though.


4. Al Merca - Sandwich bar

This cute little bar is probably my best find. It is next to the Rialto Bridge and serves the best sandwiches for €1.50 each. You can grab your food and wine and go sit beside the Grande Canal.

5. Piazza San Marco

The obvious one, but still amazing! We were lucky enough to hear some opera being performed for liberation day too.


For the rest of the time we ate a lot! And got lost in the streets of Venice. It is a beautiful city and I will definitely be back (hopefully with a bit more €€€)




40 views0 comments
bottom of page